An Anniversary (x2)

Wow, has it been that long already?  Sunday was the 2 year anniversary (yeah, I know) of my telling Uncle Sam I was done.  I found it quite ironic that while I was on AD for 20 years and 2 days, I left for Basic and Retired exactly 20 years apart.  Wouldn’t change a thing.

By now some of you are wondering what is the x2 for?  Well, 2 years ago tomorrow, I decided that I had enough of hacking my way through the day that I put down the cancer sticks and walked away from them.  Still have cravings every so often, but as long as I don’t act on them I am good.  “Hey, Sarge, why did you think of this today?”  Well, let me tell you.  On my way into the salt mine today, I heard an advertisement on the radio in the family transport for one of those stop smoking in one session “gurus.”  I went cold turkey and it was a day to day struggle to overcome the urge to light up, but  I think that I am stronger for it and I didn’t substitute one crutch for another.  I was offered some of those crutches while on AD, but I always told the docs, when I was ready I would walk away and that is what I did.  I don’t claim to be a non-smoker, I claim that I am a reformed smoker.  The next question from the doc is “How long” and now Sarge can tell them “Over two years.”

Sarge, Out

4 Responses to “An Anniversary (x2)”

  1. Ambulance Driver Says:

    “Well, 2 years ago tomorrow, I decided that I had enough of hacking my way through the day that I put down the cancer sticks and walked away from them.”

    Good for you, Sarge! And thanks for the 20 years of service, too.

  2. Sarge Says:

    Thanks AD. Glad you come by. And thanks for what you do as well.

  3. GUYK Says:

    Yep. It was my anniversary also..1 April 1983 was when I retired after 22 years, five months, and 13 days. I have to admit that I sure missed it for a while..especially payday being twice a month. But I still contend that retiring was one of the three smartest things I have done in my life..the other two being enlisting to begin with and chasing sweetthing until she caught me.

  4. Sarge Says:

    Sounds like my story as well. Enlisted, chased CINCHOUSE, Retired. That along with SIT and the Command Post are my top five achievements (not necessarily in that order).

Comments are closed.


