Of Oaths and Presidents

“I, Sarge, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

In March of 1985, I first took that oath and over the course of the next twenty years, I took it again and again on the occasion of my re-enlistment in the Air Force. Even though I have been “retired” for the last three years, I still have not been relieved of that oath and I take it as seriously now as I did 23 years ago.

Here in the next year or so, we are going to select a new President of the United States and he or she will take a similar oath. In fact, in Article II, Section 1 of the Constitution of the United State, you will find the exact wording of the oath the POTUS is required to take

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

While the oath itself does not contain the words “So help me God,” it is believed that George Washington added the words at the conclusion when he was sworn in, and most have continued the practice since.

I know, you are saying to yourself “that’s all well and good, Sarge, what is your point?” Here it is. In Friday’s fishwrap, there is a column penned by Walter Williams, posted at Townhall.com. http://www.townhall.com/columnists/WalterEWilliams/2008/04/09/political_loathsomeness

Mr. Williams asks a very good question: “Do any of the prospective nominees of either party deserve respect from the American people?” Go forth read the column for yourself, I’ll wait.

While I agree that Senators Clinton and Obama would not live up to the oath, what do you expect from a couple of liars, but I have to believe that Senator McCain would. As always, just my nickels worth.

Sarge, Out

Private to Senator McCain: Senator, as a Naval Officer, you took a similar oath at commissioning, and I know that you haven’t been relieved of that oath. Go back those 30+ years and remember what it felt like to take that oath for the very first time. The pride, the sense of duty and the ideals behind those words.

