A Glass Wall

A commonly mis-represented myth is the Constitution of the United States has as one of its tenets the “Separation of Church and State.” While I’ll admit my copy may be out of date, I can find no such wording or phrasing. Would one of my kind readers deign to point out the error of my ways? I’ll wait.

No takers? The concept of a “Wall of separation between Church and State” comes from a letter penned by T. Jefferson to the Danbury Baptist Association in 1802. The Founding Fathers and Framers, who all believed in a Supreme Being and Creator as evidenced in their writings and the Declaration of Independence.

The First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States states, in part, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof” And what this means is we, as a nation, will not have a “State Religion” such as the Church of England where the head of the government is the head of the Church. We have a right to participate, or not, as we see fit in the religion of our choice. We are not bound to a state church.

“Great, Sarge, but why are you bringing this up now?” Well, my friends, here is why: http://www.nwfdailynews.com/news/large-20676-administrators-pensacola.html and I happen to agree with the judge’s ruling. My problem with this whole case is simply this. The school district and the school were sued because of prayer. I would like for someone to explain to me how an individual offering a blessing constitutes the state making a law?

Sarge, Out

