Term Limits

I keep seeing term limits being touted as the way to “fix” Congress and other elected(?) bodies and offices. I say they already exist. If you all would get out your copy of the Constitution of the United States and read along (if you need one, go to http://www.askheritage.org/ and request one, they will send you a copy free of charge):

Article I, Section 2 states:

“The House of Representatives shall be composed of Members chosen every second Year by the People of the several States, and the Electors in each State shall have the Qualifications requisite for Electors of the most numerous Branch of the State Legislature.”

Article I, Section 3 states:

“The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each State, for six Years; and each Senator shall have one Vote.”

If you don’t like what your elected representative is doing, work to get him/her defeated in the next go around (which folks is a little over 13 months away). You the electorate get to choose your representation. The last thing we need is another law telling us who we can and cannot select to represent us.

Sarge, Out

2 Responses to “Term Limits”

  1. GUYK Says:

    I agree Sarge. But then there is a problem that our founders did not envision…one is the two party political system and the other is gerrymandering to insure a congressman/woman stays in office for ever.

  2. Sarge Says:

    That, my friend, falls into a whole ‘nother problem area that I have yet to formulate a fix for. I am open to suggestions.

Comments are closed.


