Sorry, Mr. Cosby,

It is NOT the gun.  Blaming the death of Trayvon Martin on the gun is like blaming the pencil for the misspelled word or the golf club for the bad lie.  Instead, these items are TOOLS and are meant to be used in a particular fashion.  Now, I am not saying the Mr. Zimmerman set out to kill someone that fateful night nor I am saying that Trayvon deserved to die.  Far from it.  In a previous post, I stated that IF Mr. Zimmerman broke the law in regards to the use of force; he needs to be tried by a jury of his peers, and if convicted, sentenced appropriately.  See here for the story from The Washington Post.

As one with a Concealed Carry permit, I am cognizant of the fact that I am carrying a weapon and what damage I can do with that weapon.  I hope I never have to use the weapon I carry, but I am ready to use it if necessary.  To some this makes me a “bad” person, to others a patriot.  I carry not to harm another, but to guarantee the safety of me and my family.  I am ready to do violence on their behalf.

Dr. King once said, “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”  Unless and until the likes of Jessie Jackson, Al Sharpton, the NAACP, and the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) quit playing the race card, situations such as we find ourselves in now, will never be resolved equitably.  We will never see Dr. Kings dream come to fruition.

I, for one, would like to see Dr. King’s dream come true.

Sarge, Out

