Stand Your Ground (Part II)

Didn’t plan to do a part 2, but after some discussion at the grindstone today and after lunch with a good friend yesterday, I had to make this post.  Let me first say, for the record, there is not enough information available to the public to form an opinion on the actions of Mr. Zimmerman, or as to his guilt or innocence.  They only thing I can say for sure, is that no matter what courtroom Mr. Zimmerman stands trial in, he cannot and will not get a fair trial.  It pains me greatly to say that, but after all the media attention given this case, it is a fact.  If he is acquitted, I am afraid Sanford, FL will see riots not seen since the Rodney King debacle.  If he is found guilty, it will be out of political correctness.

My friends, we are still way short of the dream of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  Of this I have no doubt.  We have people in this country that still judge a man by the color of his skin.  We have all heard people saying that Mr. Zimmerman shot Mr. Martin simply because he was black.  This was actually said by a sitting member of Congress.  Actually his words were:

Trayvon was killed for WWB in a GC, Walking While Black in a Gated Community.

These words were said on the floor of the United States House of Representatives.

The friend I had lunch with yesterday told me before I joined her that she overheard conversations along those same lines from people around her.  This took place on a United States military installation.  That is disgraceful.  Some of the parties to these conversations were no doubt members of the United States Military, I can’t say for sure, but being as we were on a military installation, there is a better than 50% chance.  I consider this disgraceful.  And if you were a party to one of these conversations, you need to rethink your commitment to the United States pure and simple.

Because of the media, Mr. Zimmerman has been tried and convicted in the court of public opinion.  That is what ticks off this old NCO.  We have a basic tenet in our system of justice in that a man is innocent until proven guilty beyond all reasonable doubt in a Court of Law.

If you are a member of any race-based organization, you are part of the problem.  Racism is racism.  No matter if you are Black, White, Hispanic, or Asian.  If you must relate to others by race, let me suggest the Human Race.  My fellow citizens, I truly don’t care about the color of your skin.  I do, however, care about the content of your heart and your character.

Sarge, Out

