July 4, 1776

Once again, I have to ask “Has the time come?”  A bit more than 3 years ago, I asked that very question, and I still don’t know “the Answer.”  Go back and read the piece from 2009 and ask yourself the same question.

This is about where our nation is headed.  With the recent ruling on “Obamacare,” I now have to ask you this question.  If the government can require you to buy health insurance based upon some arbitrary standard (what they say you need versus what you actually need), what is to stop them from dictating/interfering in other areas of your private life?  In the market for a new car?  How about this one?  You can buy that one, but you will pay a “penalty” if you do.  Want to buy a new house?  Well, we have this one here that meets your needs.  Oh, you can buy that house over there, but you will pay a “penalty” if you do.  While these examples could be considered extreme, your “needs” will no longer be determined by you, but by some government employee and who knows how those “needs” will be determined.  Penalty or tax, it is still money you will pay to the government because you decide to exercise free will.  You know, that which was instilled in you by your Creator.  Has the time come?

Any regular reader of this little blog, knows in 1985 I took an oath.  That oath goes like this:

“I, _____, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

Read that oath carefully and notice to who or what I and every other service member swore allegiance to.  Not the officers appointed over me and not the President of the United States.  I and my brothers and sisters in arms swear allegiance to the Constitution of the United States.  Presidents come and go.  The Constitution has endured for 224 years despite the efforts of those opposed to it.  While it has been changed over the years, it still stands.

Even though I have not worn a uniform since 2005, I have not been relieved of that oath.  It does not have an expiration date attached.  Since I am no longer in uniform, I am no longer subject to the Uniform Code of Military Justice and no longer required to obey the orders of the President of the United States nor are any officers appointed over me.

Do you have the courage of those 56 men from 1776?  Or would you rather be as the sheep led to the slaughter?  Freedom or subjugation, the choice is ours.  I am on my soapbox, will participate at the ballot box, but don’t forget, I have a bullet box which is my eternal hope will remain sealed.  Make your choice carefully as once made, it cannot be unmade.  You don’t get a do-over.

Sarge, Out

Tags: , , , ,


